ICU Nurse Certifications: What You Need to KnowICU Nurse Certifications

Now that you have finally become an ICU nurse, you may be wondering what other certifications you may want to consider adding to your resume. There are some basic certifications most ICU nurses acquire that are not ICU specific such as BLS, basic arrhythmia, EKG interpretation, and ACLS, but other certifications apply to ICU nurses?

Let’s take a look at a few ICU Nurse Certifications below.


The CCRN is the major certification for critical care nurses. It stands for critical care registered nurse and is offered by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses Certification Corporation.  The CCRN offers three main specializations for adult, pediatric or neonatal. This ICU Nurse certification will give you not only a sense of accomplishment but certainly will help you to gain maintain the respect of your peers and coworkers and even patients and their families. The certification is good for 3 years and can be renewed by retaking the exam in your area is specialization.

To learn more about:

CCRN Certification for Adults

CCRN Certification for Neonatal

CCRN Certification for Kids


The CCRN-E is an option of the critical care registered nurse certification worth mentioning on its own. The CCRN-E Is for critical care nurses who provide care remotely. It is a subset of the adult specialization. The CCRN-E is a reflection of the world we live in today where healthcare professionals can have an impact on patients across the globe from right where they are. The possibilities in this realm are still being explored, however, this will likely be a greater part of critical care in the future and technology continues to advance.

To learn more about the CCRN Certification.


The Certified Wound Specialist (CWS) certification is offered by the American Board of Wound Care Management.  The CWS is for nurses working at least three years with critical wounds. It is considered a Masters level certification and requires a minimum of a bachelor’s degree to be considered. This certification will allow your facility to market itself and perhaps you personally as a wound care expert.

To learn more about the CWS Certification.

CSC: ICU Nurse Certifications

The (Adult) CSC certification is the Cardiac Surgery Critical Care Nurse certification offered by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses Certification Corporation

This ICU certification is for nurses who work with the critically ill immediately after heart surgery. It does require at least two years’ experience. If you don’t currently work with cardiac patients, inquire about internship opportunities within your organization or possibly within other organizations.

To learn more about the CSC Certification.

To learn more about additional nursing certifications.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *